Antonio Vivaldi: Summer from the Four Seasons

My gosh, just 5 days from the start of fall, and I just now remembered I was supposed to write about “Summer” from Vivaldi’s Four Seasons.

My whole life has been based on making excuses for my behavior or lack thereof. Today I have no excuse but to say, “I’m sorry” and beg forgiveness.

This summer, the East Coast of the United States went through a horrendous heat wave, with temperatures soaring over 100 degrees Fahrenheit. Fortunately, I was out of town on vacation during its worst, the first two week of July. Ironically, I was actually freezing in London and Paris which were having one of their coldest summers on record. The days were cold and rainy, averaging around 55 degrees Fahrenheit, and I had to buy a coat.

Climatologist tell us that such weather extremes are the result of climate change, which used to be called Global Warming. This summer, the majority of the US experienced a severe drought. This caused many crops to fail and economists are predicting higher food costs because of that. An online investor article I read was cheery, however, saying that farmers would actually benefit from the higher prices as would those who invest in the commodities market.

Such thinking is what makes me thing the world really is out of kilter. One of the reasons there will be a food crisis, is that farmers are given subsidies and tax breaks to grow corn, which is used not for consumption, but to make ethanol. This was a political decision. Ethanol supplements gasoline and supposedly makes cars less polluting. Cars are a major contributor to greenhouse gases which cause climate change. But the manufacture of ethanol requires more energy than ethanol produces, and since electricity for the most part comes from the burning of fossil fuels, it might actually contribute to more climate change. Because farmers replace food crops with corn, that means if there is a drought, then the impact would be less food, which potentially could cause famines since there would be less food that now costs more for poor people in the US and in developing countries, many of which import rice and wheat from the US.

In a few days I’ll have to write about Vivaldi’s “Autumn.” Hopefully, the drought will be over by then.

Download all of Vivaldi’s Four Seasons for 99 cents from Amazon

About kurtnemes
Writer and Education Professional. Specialties include Ethics, Personal Memoir, Classical music, Tai Chi, Stress Reduction, Meditation, Coping, Classical Music, Aging, Love, Joy, Compassion and Equanimity (& what interests me.)

3 Responses to Antonio Vivaldi: Summer from the Four Seasons

  1. Kurt, sorry you had to suffer our legendary British weather. It has been pretty spectacular so far this year. I was caught in a mega-downpour in July when we had a month’s worth of rain in an hour courtesy of the jet-stream being usually far south for the time of year. It eventually headed north and more normal summer service resumed for a few days before Autumn rolled in. Possibly my favourite time of year, I have to say, and possibly my favourite of Vivaldi’s Four Seasons too (although I can never quite decide between this and winter!). LT

    Like

    • kurtnemes says:

      LT: Fortunately, we had two spectacular days in London before we left on July 23. We were staying in Russell Square and I had one of the best days of my life. Here’s what I did: I walked down to St. Martin’s in the Field as I heard they were having a noontime concert. I was early and watched the trio rehearse for a bit before running over to the National Gallery to look at the Caravaggios, Vermeers and Leonardo. Then I went over to Leicester Square and bought half price tickets for Sweeny Todd in the evening. Back at St. Martin’s the trio performed Beethoven’s first Trio and one by Shostakovich. Couldn’t have chosen two more different pieces, but both were great and it was amazing sitting in the place where Handel used to play the organ. After that, I went back to the Nat. Gallery and then to a great pub called the Porcupine for a gammon steak, eggs, chips and a pint of the best bitter. Next stop, British Museum to see the Elgin Marbles, the mummies, and the Rosetta stone. I met my wife at 6 at Leicester square and then we went to see Sweeny. It was a superb performance and we had front row seats! Really made up for the first few days there and I fell in love with London.

      Like

      • Wow, that is a spectacular programme – how fabulous! We are so lucky to have all those things at our disposal in London and I pop into the Nat Gallery whenever I can. My family and I had tickets to the ‘once in a generation’ Leonardo exhibition shown there last Christmas which was stunning, and Vermeer is one of my favourite artists ever. So glad you had such a brilliant experience and were left with such wonderful memories. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

