RIP Ludwig Van Beethoven: died March 26, 1827

I just found an article that said Beethoven died 186 years ago today. Here’s a nice movement from his 7th Symphony, which is one of the first ones of his I ever bought.

https://soundcloud.com/joshua-bell/joshua-bell-beethoven-symphony

One of my all time favorite classical pieces is his Violin Concerto in D. Here’s a performance of it by Christian Ferras. I had a copy of it on vinyl performed by him with Karajan as the conductor, but it’s in storage and I couldn’t find it. This one dates from the late 1950s, and it’s just as exuberant.

It still gives me great joy and I always thought it would be a wonderful piece to play at my funeral to celebrate a life well lived (many, many years hence, of course.)

About kurtnemes
Writer and Education Professional. Specialties include Ethics, Personal Memoir, Classical music, Tai Chi, Stress Reduction, Meditation, Coping, Classical Music, Aging, Love, Joy, Compassion and Equanimity (& what interests me.)

2 Responses to RIP Ludwig Van Beethoven: died March 26, 1827

  1. Libby says:

    What an awesome piece. I’m listening to it on repeat now. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Earpool: (v) Beethoven! | Music for the Mole

Leave a Reply

