Ludwig Van Beethoven Symphony Number 9, Third Movement

In 2002, Beethoven’s Ninth symphony was was added to the UN’s World Heritage list.  It was the first musical score to receive that honor.  It’s his greatest, most performed and most popular work.  One of the things that makes it so, is the catchy fourth movement in which Beethoven set to music a poem by Frederich Schiller, namely his “Ode To Joy.”  If I could hum it to you now, you’d instantly know it as it is one of the most recognizable pieces on earth (in the West, I suppose).

It’s too bad, it’s so popular though, and I wonder whether it might overshadow the symphony’s other movements.  If so, that’s a pity because the third movement must rank as one of the most moving, passionate pieces ever written.  Here, take a listen:

In this piece, I hear yearning and passion and desire and profound beautify and so much emotion that it always enraptures me.  Hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

About kurtnemes
Writer and Education Professional. Specialties include Ethics, Personal Memoir, Classical music, Tai Chi, Stress Reduction, Meditation, Coping, Classical Music, Aging, Love, Joy, Compassion and Equanimity (& what interests me.)

8 Responses to Ludwig Van Beethoven Symphony Number 9, Third Movement

  1. Gallivanta says:

    Fascinating to know that Beethoven’s Fifth is on the UN World Heritage List.

    Like

  2. Josh Janvrin says:

    3rd movement is my favourite. First time I saw it live, I was naturally waiting in eager expectation for the choir entry. Turns out I was so exhausted after the 3rd movement, the Ode to Joy was a bit anti-climactic.

    Like

    • kurtnemes says:

      Great story. Where did you see it and who was conducting? I saw it live for the first time in 1979 in Prospect Park, Brooklyn conducted by Zubin Mehta on a hot summer night.

      Like

      • Josh Janvrin says:

        Jukka Pekka Saraste at Massey Hall of all places, while Roy Thomson Hall was being renovated. A hot, humid, June night, the Mendelssohn Choir was packed into the loft like sardines, and all of us were sweating profusely. But there was electricity in the air that night, and it has remained one of my most memorable concert experiences.

        Like

  3. Carl says:

    It is great music, but I do have troubles taking any of the movements out of context. To me, I feel slightly robbed if I can’t listen to the whole piece.

    Like

    • kurtnemes says:

      I guess that’s the original intent approach. He did write it as a whole and for the 9th, the whole is greater than the parts, but the parts are pretty darned amazing.

      Like

  4. Love the graphics. In the late 1960s I used to follow Bartok quartets on the scores. When less jet-lagged I will return and concentrate on this.

    Like

    • kurtnemes says:

      wow. I just found you website and read your bio. What an amazing, Renaissance person–scientist and artist. I’m going to have to track down your novels. Thanks for the comments and thanks for following me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

