Beethoven on Innovation: The Glow of Enthusiasm

Beethoven’s craft and passion in his own words.

Steven Lee Elder

06.07.2013

From the glow of enthusiasm I let the melody escape.  I pursue it.  Breathless I catch up with it.  It flies again, it disappears, it plunges into a chaos of diverse emotions.  I catch it again, I seize it, I embrace it with delight….I multiply it by modulations, and at last I triumph in the first theme.  There is the whole symphony.

~ Ludwig van Beethoven

View original post

About kurtnemes
Writer and Education Professional. Specialties include Ethics, Personal Memoir, Classical music, Tai Chi, Stress Reduction, Meditation, Coping, Classical Music, Aging, Love, Joy, Compassion and Equanimity (& what interests me.)

2 Responses to Beethoven on Innovation: The Glow of Enthusiasm

  1. kurtnemes says:

    Reblogged this on Stepping into Your Power and commented:

    Beethoven’s craft and passion in his own words.

    Like

  2. Diana says:

    Wow. I am on to analyzing the piano sonatas, in some depth now, and just keep getting blown away. Great quote.

    Like

Leave a Reply

