Vitreous Bach

My entry on this piece consistently gets more hits from search engines than any other. More than the 1812 Overture. Here’s an interesting take on it. Some people can’t listen to the Glass Harmonica; it affects them like fingernails on a chalkboard. If that’s you, run.

Choice of Neurosis

View original post

About kurtnemes
Writer and Education Professional. Specialties include Ethics, Personal Memoir, Classical music, Tai Chi, Stress Reduction, Meditation, Coping, Classical Music, Aging, Love, Joy, Compassion and Equanimity (& what interests me.)

2 Responses to Vitreous Bach

  1. I did find this a little testing on the ear, yet I love the glass harmonica at the beginning of the Mad Scene in Lucia di Lammermoor. My father used to entertain us as children setting up scales with wine glasses.

    Like

  2. kvennarad says:

    This was actually quite a tour de force, if a little strange in that register. I recall my dad had a recording of Dr Albert Schweizer playing this on the organ, which I loved. I also adore Jacques Loussier’s jazz interpretation (I like it as played by his original trio, Pierre Michelot on bass and Christian Garros on drums). Not everyone likes that, but I think Bach would have ‘got’ it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

