Did Orff copy Stravinsky?

Just saying’

Is it just me or does Stravinsky’s “Symphony of Psalms” sound like part of Orff’s “Carmina Burana?”  

Why don’t you listen to the two and let me know what you think?

Stravinsky

Orff

 

About kurtnemes
Writer and Education Professional. Specialties include Ethics, Personal Memoir, Classical music, Tai Chi, Stress Reduction, Meditation, Coping, Classical Music, Aging, Love, Joy, Compassion and Equanimity (& what interests me.)

2 Responses to Did Orff copy Stravinsky?

  1. hilarycustancegreen says:

    It it a long time since I listened to Carmina Burana and another age before that that I used to listen to Symphony of Psalms. I can’t say that in tonight’s re-listen I really heard theft, though I have no musical training, so perhaps at a technical level it is there. I did hear admiring nods towards the Stravinsky in the vocal combinations, but the driving offbeat rhythms of the Carmina seeming entirely their Orff. But, as I say, my ear is untrained and out of practice.

    Like

  2. kvennarad says:

    My take is that there is nothing new under the sun. Music is a code, like any other. As a writer I know that nothing I write, no matter how ‘original’, exists without and uninfluenced by what has gone before – the very building blocks of words and letters that I use make up a recognisable system of very basic semes, shot through with the significances that culture and history have given them. The same applies to music, which is (simply?) another means of communication, and which follows its own semiology; the rules might be flexible, but the intertextuality is always there.

    Maybe Orff never listened to Stravinsky; maybe he did and seeded Carmina Burana with homages; undoubtedly they share many of the same codes – their shared culture as musicians and composers will have seen to that.

    M

    Like

Leave a Reply

