Robert Gauldin: Pavane

I was staying at a bed and breakfast this past weekend north of Philadelphia and the owners had tuned the radio to 90.1 FM, WRTI.ORG.  It was 4th of July and the station was playing a lot of Copland and Ives, which is understandable.  Then they put on this piece by an American composer named Robert Gauldin, called Pavane.  It was heartrendingly beautiful.  I did a quick google search and found a short bio on Wikipedia.  He taught composition at Eastman School of Music starting in 1963.  I went to the university page and found more details.  When I went to the web to find recordings of his works, I came up with only one recording.  I couldn’t even find a youtube performance of any of his works.

This is sad, because this one piece puts him in the pantheon of greats for me.  Well, I’m given to hyperbole, but I did find this piece quite touching.

Click hear to find a reference to the Mercury Living Presence Recording which lets you listen to an excerpt.

Can anyone help me find any recordings of this composer’s work?

Thanks

About kurtnemes
Writer and Education Professional. Specialties include Ethics, Personal Memoir, Classical music, Tai Chi, Stress Reduction, Meditation, Coping, Classical Music, Aging, Love, Joy, Compassion and Equanimity (& what interests me.)

5 Responses to Robert Gauldin: Pavane

  1. kvennarad says:

    The Pavane is available on iTunes, as a track on the Mercury Living Presence album ‘Music for Quiet Listening vol.2’ (Eastman-Rochester Orch). The track may be bought on its own, very cheaply. The other tracks are interesting too.
    M.

    Like

  2. Ajaytao2010 says:

    Nice reading about you
    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

    Please visit my new blog if possible, hope you like it 🙂
    http://ajaytaobotanicalblog.wordpress.com/
    thank you so much dear 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

