Blogging from A to Z April Challenge: E is for Juan del Enzina

A2Z-BADGE-0002015-LifeisGood-230_zps660c38a0 This is day 5 of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge in which I attempt to blog every day (excepting Sundays) throughout the month of April. For this challenge, I am curating a collection of “classical” music pieces, which are lesser known or by lesser known composers (to me at least).Today’s composer is Juan del Enzina (Born: July 12, 1468, Salamanca, Spain Died: 1529, Toledo, Spain).

“Pedro, bien te quiero”

“Pedro, bien te quiero” is a dialogue between a Lady and a herdsman warrior who is in love with her.

Here are the words and a translation:

-Pedro, bien te quiero,
maguera vaquero.

-Has tan bien baylado,
corrido y luchado,
que m’ has namorado,
y de amores muero.

-Alafé, nuestr’ama,
ya suena mi fama,
y aún pues, en la cama
soy muy más artero.

-No sé qué te diga.
Tu amor me fatiga;
tenme por amiga,
sé mi compañero.

-Soy en todo presto,
mañoso y dispuesto,
y en ver vuestro gesto
mucho más me esmero.

-Quiero que me quieras,
pues por mí te esmeras.
Tengamos de veras
amor verdadero.

-Nuestr’ama señora,
yo nací en buen ora.
Ya soy desde agora
vuestro por entero.

Pedro, well I love you,
Although you are a herdsman.
You have danced,
Raced, and battled so well
That I have fallen in love,
And die from it.

By my faith, madam,
Already my fame resounds,
And I am even
More artful in bed.

I don’t know what to say to you,
Your love tires me;
Have me for you friend,
Be my companion,

I am in everything quick,
Skillful, and willing,
And in seeing your face,
I am even more inspired,

I want you to love me,
And since you are fighting for me,
We must have true love,

Madam, lady, I was born at a good hour;
I am from now on
Entirely yours.

The composer’s Wikipedia page Juan del Enzina

About kurtnemes
Writer and Education Professional. Specialties include Ethics, Personal Memoir, Classical music, Tai Chi, Stress Reduction, Meditation, Coping, Classical Music, Aging, Love, Joy, Compassion and Equanimity (& what interests me.)

4 Responses to Blogging from A to Z April Challenge: E is for Juan del Enzina

  1. Gallivanta says:

    🙂 No false modesty from the herdsman!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kvennarad says:

    I’m just wondering about some of the translation here. For example, I suspect that ‘en buen ora’ might be idiomatic. Just a thought.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

