A to Z: M is for Hajime Mizoguchi

A2Z-BADGE-0002015-LifeisGood-230_zps660c38a0 It’s day 13 of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge in which I attempt to blog every day (excepting Sundays) throughout the month of April. For this challenge, I am curating a collection of “classical” music pieces, which are lesser known or by lesser known composers (to me at least).

Today’s composer is Hajime Mizoguchi (b.1960 ).


Mozoguchi is a Japanese cellist and composer. He turned to composing after having a bad auto accident when he was 22. Since then done over 20 albums and composed extensively for film. I love the way this piece starts out with a solo cello and a beautiful melody. Not too crazy about the middle where it gets sort of “Soundtrack-like,” but then it returns to the wonderful melody.

Noise Man By Hajime Mizoguchi

The composer’s Wikipedia page Hajime Mizoguchi

About kurtnemes
Writer and Education Professional. Specialties include Ethics, Personal Memoir, Classical music, Tai Chi, Stress Reduction, Meditation, Coping, Classical Music, Aging, Love, Joy, Compassion and Equanimity (& what interests me.)

8 Responses to A to Z: M is for Hajime Mizoguchi

  1. kvennarad says:

    Did you know that his given name – Hajime – means ‘beginning’?

    Liked by 1 person

    • kurtnemes says:

      In Japanese or Gaelic?

      Like

      • kvennarad says:

        In the Japanese.

        Like

      • kurtnemes says:

        Do you speak Japanese? Are you a fan of Haiku?

        The butterfly
        perfuming its wings
        fans the orchid
        ― Matsuo Basho,

        Like

      • kvennarad says:

        I don’t speak Japanese… well only a few words (one of which is ‘hajime’) and phrases. I have been writing haiku and senryu for many years. Some of the ‘fragments’ on my blog are actually haiku. In an exercise in 2008, I wrote some lines further to Basho’s famous ‘plop’ haiku. One haiku:

        ripples spread out
        the pool remembers
        a frog was here

        and one senryu:

        ripples splat out
        the frog remembers
        a pool was here

        Liked by 1 person

      • kurtnemes says:

        Sublime. Haiku speaks to me in an emotional way no other poetry does despite being in translation and therefore missing the syllabic structure of Japanese. Do you know Blythe’s 4 volume collection organized by season? Spring is my favorite volume and spring is my favorite character in Japanese calligraphy.

        Like

      • kvennarad says:

        I don’t read a lot of haiku, but then I don’t read a lot of any poetry. I don’t want my own material to become imitative.

        Like

Leave a Reply

