June 28, birthday of Joseph Joachim: Cadenza from Beethoven’s Violin Concerto in D

Joseph Joachim (1831-1907) at the age of 12 took the stage under the baton of Felix Mendelssohn and performed Beethoven’s Violin Concerto in D with this cadenza from the 3rd movement written by the boy violinist himself. While this concerto is probably one of my two favorite pieces of classical music of all time, this cadenza is my all time favorite of the many that have been written for this piece. It was the one Christian Ferras performed on my old LP of Herbert Von Karajan conducting the Berlin Philharmonic, and it’s the piece (or just the 3rd movement) that I want played at my funeral.

Here’s the full concerto played by Benjamin Marquise Gilmore.

About kurtnemes
Writer and Education Professional. Specialties include Ethics, Personal Memoir, Classical music, Tai Chi, Stress Reduction, Meditation, Coping, Classical Music, Aging, Love, Joy, Compassion and Equanimity (& what interests me.)

7 Responses to June 28, birthday of Joseph Joachim: Cadenza from Beethoven’s Violin Concerto in D

  1. Pingback: June 28, birthday of Joseph Joachim: Cadenza from Beethoven’s Violin Concerto in D — Kurt Nemes’ Classical Music Almanac | I Write The Music

  2. richibi says:

    wow, Kurt, that you should have a preferred cadenza, I’m impressed, I’ve spent the last several years trying to let people know what a cadenza is, but I’ve only listened to them myself superficially, which is to say as part of the greater whole, not even ever separating them as decisively as I do movements, what an inspiration, another area to explore – by the way, thanks for the great birthday greetings

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kvennarad says:

    Okay, the full concerto is going to set me up for the day. It’s a great concert piece.

    Boy-oh-boy but Anne Sophie Mutter can really handle a fiddle! And unless I miss my guess, that’s Ozawa conducting, yes?

    Like

  4. richibi says:

    Gilmore was extraordinary, precise, clear, but too timid, I think, to match the greatest, Mutter, for example, interpretations, though his first movement cadenza, full of gypsy fervour, pulse, nearly makes up for that deficiency, it was brilliant – interesting how he picks up in the very last bars of the very last movement, however, the last spurt at the end of the race, when you notice you’ve completed it

    the orchestra, meanwhile, was resounding, on point, glorious

    cheers, Richard

    Like

Leave a Reply

