August 29, birthday of Diamanda Galás

Since July, I have been concentrating solely on female composers.  You can read about that in my post from July 19.  If I can’t find one born on the calendar day, I won’t post.  On with today’s composer.

 
Diamanda Galás is a Greek-American Avant-Garde composer, who was mad as hell during the 1980s AIDS epidemic that claimed the life of her brother. This shows in today’s work, which comes from “Plague Mass,” which she performed at St. John the Divine church in NYC. She wrote it to protest the Catholic Church’s “handling” of the AIDS crisis, which, among other things, forbids the use of condoms and the was against the teaching of sex education.
 

Plague Mass:  Cris d’Aveugle

About kurtnemes
Writer and Education Professional. Specialties include Ethics, Personal Memoir, Classical music, Tai Chi, Stress Reduction, Meditation, Coping, Classical Music, Aging, Love, Joy, Compassion and Equanimity (& what interests me.)

One Response to August 29, birthday of Diamanda Galás

  1. kvennarad says:

    I know Galas of old. I’m afraid I could never make up my mind as to whether her music was deeply sinister or just cheap melodrama.

    Like

Leave a Reply

