November 10, birthday of Idabelle Smith Firestone (1874 – 1954)

Since July, I have been concentrating solely on female composers.  You can read about that in my post from July 19.  If I can’t find one born on the calendar day, I won’t post.  On with today’s composer.

Idabelle Smith Firestone was born to a father who held a patent to a flour mill, and then married Harvey Firestone, who founded the Firestone Tire and Rubber Company. Wikipedia says little more than that except that she wrote a few songs, one of which became the theme to “Voice of Firestone,” radio program.

If I Could Tell You
In My Garden (excerpt) sung by Jussi Björling

In My Garden Sung in 1950 by Thomas L. Thomas

About kurtnemes
Writer and Education Professional. Specialties include Ethics, Personal Memoir, Classical music, Tai Chi, Stress Reduction, Meditation, Coping, Classical Music, Aging, Love, Joy, Compassion and Equanimity (& what interests me.)

One Response to November 10, birthday of Idabelle Smith Firestone (1874 – 1954)

  1. kvennarad says:

    Actually… ‘If I Could Tell You’ is a fine song. It ain’t Cole Porter, and it’s a bit Edwardian, but it ain’t bad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

