March 19, Birthday of Elizabeth Maconchy (1907-1994)

Whenever I come across another female composer whose career is unknown to me, my heart skips a beat. How is it that I’ve never encountered her music before. There aren’t that many online resources that list female composers by their birthdate. Usually I go to Wikipedia and search for composers on a given day. When that doesn’t work, I next search through a Google book called Women Opera Composers: Biographies from the 1500s to the 21st Century. Though I can’t read the whole book without purchasing it, I can search for the date I wish, and it often turns up a name.

March 19 gave me Elizabeth Maconchy, born in Hertfordshire, England. She started composing music from the age of six and entered the Royal Conservatory of music at age sixteen. There she studied under Ralph Vaughn Williams. According to her online bio, she preferred “middle European” modernist composers like Bartok and Janacek. So she completed her studies in Prague. According to the scant entry in Wikipedia, she’s best known for her string quartets, but youtube has quite a few other works by her. Enjoy.

Nocturne (1950/1951)
Quartet No. 11
Symphony for Double String Orchestra, First Movement: Allegro Molto
wo Dances from the ballet “Puck Fair” (1940)
About kurtnemes
Writer and Education Professional. Specialties include Ethics, Personal Memoir, Classical music, Tai Chi, Stress Reduction, Meditation, Coping, Classical Music, Aging, Love, Joy, Compassion and Equanimity (& what interests me.)

One Response to March 19, Birthday of Elizabeth Maconchy (1907-1994)

  1. kvennarad says:

    I have to say I love her work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

